Main areas of research

By inner-university-wide networking and interdisciplinary cooperation with the institutes of the Montan University, synergies between the departements mechanical engineering (component design, lifetime prediction), physics (characterisation of a surface), automation engineering (inspection of a surface), preperation (fillers) and injection molding are used to strengthen the position of the professorship.

Injection Molding Simulation and robust Processing

The research area ‘Injection Molding Simulation and robust Processing‘ is focused on systematic application of Design of Experiments and injection molding simulation of thermoplastics and reactive polymers. Therefore the software packages Cadmould®3D-F, Varimos®, Sigmasoft® Thermoplast & Elastomer, COMSOL®, Minitab® and Creo® 2.0 are used.

Injection moulding of thermosetting materials

This research area “injection moulding of thermosetting materials” is mainly engaged in processing of elastomer materials.

Systematic component design from injection molding parts

Since 2002 polymer engineers in Leoben and their partners have been focused on the product development and adaption of systematic product development processes for high complex injection molding parts. This includes the consequent application of structured product development processes with stages (development phases) and gates (control points).The main focus lies in establishing systematic partnerships between OEMs and KMUs and especially the frontloading in terms of early prevention of errors with the help of simulation methods for the virtual product development, to get faster, more efficient and cheaper to the serial product.

Injection Molding Compounding

The injection molding compounder is an highly energy efficient production technology. The processing is done in “single-heat” at lower working temperatures and shorter residence times and therefore less material stress .

Variothermal injection molding

Variothermal process management is defined by active heating the tool surface up to more than 100°C before the injection and active or passive cooling during the cooling phase.

In the area of "Variothermal injection molding" the chair of injection molding of polymers and the PCCL occupy themselves mainly with concepts for dynamic mold temperature control  as well as variothermal processing and its impact on component properties.

 

Wetting behavior of polymer melts

Adhesion and friction between polymers and mold surfaces is a key issue in polymer processing. Demoulding forces in injection molding are reduced by physical, chemical, or roughness modification of the mold surface.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Durch inneruniversitäre Vernetzung und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit mit Lehrstühlen und Instituten der Montanuniversität werden Synergien zwischen den Fachbereichen Maschinenbau (Bauteilauslegung, Lebensdauervorhersage), Physik (Oberflächencharakterisierung), Automation (Oberflächeninspektion), Aufbereitung (mineralische Füllstoffe) und der Spritzgießtechnik genutzt, um die Stärkefelder des Lehrstuhls auszubauen.

 

Spritzgießsimulation und robuste Prozessführung

Der Bereich Spritzgießsimulation und robuste Prozessführung beschäftigt sich schwerpunktmäßig mit der systematischen Anwendung von Spritzgießsimulation und statistischer Versuchsplanung für Thermoplaste und reaktive Formmassen. Dazu stehen dem Lehrstuhl die Softwarepakete Cadmould® 3D-F, Varimos®, Sigmasoft® Thermoplast & Elastomer, COMSOL®, Minitab® und Creo® 2.0 zur Verfügung.

Spritzgießen vernetzender Formmassen

Der Bereich Spritzgießen vernetzender Formmassen beschäftigt sich schwerpunktmäßig mit der Verarbeitung von Elastomeren.

Systematische Auslegung von Spritzgießbauteilen

Seit 2002 beschäftigen sich die Kunststofftechnik Leoben und ihre Partner mit der Entwicklung und Adaptierung von systematischen Produktentwicklungsprozessen für hochkomplexe Spritzgießteile. Dies umfasst die konsequente Anwendung von strukturierten Produktentwicklungsprozessen mit Stages (Entwicklungsabschnitte) und Gates (Kontrollpunkte), die Förderung von Systempartnerschaften zwischen OEMs und KMUs und insbesondere das Frontloading im Sinne von frühzeitiger Fehlervermeidung durch verstärkten Einsatz von Simulationsmethoden zur virtuellen Produktentwicklung, um schneller, effizienter und kostengünstiger zum Serienprodukt zu gelangen.

Spritzgiesscompoundieren

Das Spritzgießcompoundieren ist eine äußerst energieeffiziente und intelligente Produktionstechnik, die den Compoundierprozess mit dem Spritzgießprozess verknüpft.  Die Verarbeitung erfolgt somit direkt, d.h. „in einer Wärme“, bei niedrigen Verarbeitungstemperaturen, geringen Verweilzeiten und damit geringer Materialbelastung.

Variothermes Spritzgießen

Variotherme Prozessführung ist definiert durch aktives Aufheizen der Werkzeugoberfläche vor dem Einspritzen über 100 °C und aktives oder passives Abkühlen in der Kühlphase.

Der Bereich Variothermes Spritzgießen am Lehrstuhl für Spritzgießen von Kunststoffen und dem PCCL beschäftigt sich schwerpunktmäßig mit Konzepten für dynamische Werkzeugtemperierung sowie variothermer Prozessführung und deren Auswirkung auf Bauteileigenschafte.

Benetzungsverhalten von Polymerschmelzen

Adhäsion und Reibung zwischen Polymer und Werkzeugoberfläche spielen eine große Rolle in der Kunststoffverarbeitung. Beim Spritzgießen versucht man z.B. die Entformungskräfte über die Modifikation der physikalischen oder chemischen Eigenschaften bzw. der Rauigkeit der Werkzeugoberflächen zu reduzieren.