Projects

In frame of public funded research projects, both basic research as well as application-related topics are addressed.

Selection of current researched or already completed research projects at the chair:

Christian Doppler Laboratory for highly efficient composite processing

Christian Doppler Laboratory for highly efficient composite processing

Hosted by the Christian Doppler Research Association, supported by grants from the Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy (BMWFW) and in cooperation with the FACC Operations GmbH.

Duration: 2013 - 2020

Partner: FACC Operations GmbH

Christian Doppler Laboratory – cost estimation for efficient composite production

Christian Doppler Labor

Cost estimation for efficient composite production

Fiber-reinforced plastics or composite materials have exceptional mechanical properties due to their material combination of high-strength fibers embedded in a resilient polymer matrix. This makes them especially preferable for aerospace and racing applications. But also automotive, transportation, wind energy and sports industry can profit from this materials class’s performance.

But therefor, it is necessary to understand and be able to control the comparatively high material and manufacturing costs of composites. The key to this is cost modelling and estimation for which there are three basic principles available - analogous, parametric and bottom-up. Based on analyzation of these methods and known models a bottom-up/parametric hybrid approach was chosen for the development of the Christian Doppler Laboratory (CDL) cost estimation program ALPHA.

This research is made possible by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy, the Christian Doppler Research Association and FACC Operations GmbH.

Partner: FACC Operations GmbH

Evolution#4 - the 4. industrial revolution of airplane manufacturing

Manufacturing concept for the automated processing of large-scale wing structures; Source: Fill GmbH
Manufacturing concept for the automated processing of large-scale wing structures
Source: Fill GmbH

In aircraft manufacturing, fiber-reinforced polymer composites have an enormous potential for fuel savings or increase in range and payload due to their better mass / stiffness ratio compared to metals. Currently, however, the aircraft industry is still heavily influenced by manual activities; this is where Evolution#4 comes in: Based on the Resin Transfer Molding process with integrated quality control as well as concepts of the digital twin, the aerospace sector is to be made fit for Industry 4.0.

 

Duration: 2018 bis 2020

Funding: FFG, TAKE OFF, 2016

Partner: Alpex Technologies GmbH Aerospace & Advanced Composites GmbHBRIMATECH Services GmbHFill Gesellschaft m.b.H.

Liquid Composite Moulding - Development and understanding by Research

Liquid Composite Moulding

Development and understanding by Research

The processing of composite materials using liquid composite moulding (LCM) has boomed over the last years. This is based on the possibility to automate the process, which is the basis for high volume production. Due to the high interest of the economy on this topic there are a few projects going on at the chair of composite processing. They are dealing with different problems of the LCM process.

Funded by the Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) under the program “Produktion der Zukunft”.

Partner: Alpex Technology GmbH, Austrian Institut of Technology GmbH, Benteler-SGL Composites Technology GmbH, bto-epoxy GmbH, FACC AG

HybridRTM – Quality assured processing technique for material hybrid composites using RTM

HybridRTM

Quality assured processing technique for material hybrid composites using RTM

In the project “HybridRTM” a one-shot resin transfer molding process is aimed in which the dry fiber based reinforcing structure and a metallic component are placed in the cavity. Infiltration and joining are done in once. Definition of resin injection point and venting gates is ­necessary. Furthermore, the processing conditions dependent curing and resulting residual stresses are of interest. The aim is to define optimized processing conditions resulting in highest adhesion between composite and metallic component, minimized distortion of the resulting component, and a short cycle time.

Funded by the FFG in frame of research and technology funding under the program “Produktion der Zukunft”, grant agreement no 848666.

Duration: 2015 - 2018

Partner: Benteler SGL Composite Technology GmbH, Austria, alpex technologies GmbH, LKR Leichtmetallkompetenzzentrum Ranshofen GmbH, bto-epoxy GmbH

Further information in the biennial report 2015 - 2016 ( S. 32 und S. 41)

InP4 - "In-Line Process Control for TP Placement Process"

Projekt InP4: Steuerungstechnik für automatisiertes Tapelegen ©Kunststofftechnik Leoben

Tape placement technologies have been commercially used since 1980's, but the optimization potential has not yet been exhausted. The Processing of Composite Group is working on an in-line process control that will allow in situ consolidation and a stabilization of the process. The group uses a modular, custom-made placement system with a flashlight lamp system.

 

Duration: 2018 - 2021

Funding: FFG, Produktion der Zukunft, 24. AS

Partner: FACC Operation GmbH 

 

 

To top

MoVeTech – Model-based processing technique for manufacturing of structural components in aerospace

MoVeTech

Model-based processing technique for manufacturing of high quality structural components in aerospace

“MoVeTech” is a project that involves modelling and simulation for composites in aerospace application and it is massively based on sensor assistance. In this project the Advanced Resin Transfer Molding process (also known as gap impregnation process) is analysed. This process is characterized by a gap between the preform and the upper mold. The resin is injected into this gap and afterwards infiltrated into the preform by fully closing the cavity. Different types of sensors (like temperature, pressure, DC or DEA) are used, which provide important processing information like flow front arrival, cure degree and resin crosslinking behavior.

Funded by the FFG in frame of research and technology funding under the program TAKE OFF, grant agreement no 850466.

Durartion: 2015 bis 2018

Partner: Langzauner GmbH, FACC Operations GmbH, ALPEX Technologies GmbH, MUL-LA

NovoTube - flexible manufactured tubular structures

NovoTube

"NovoTube", the follow-up project of SCT - Smart Composite Tubes, addresses an alternative approach to decrease filling times and to extend process-related limitations in BARTM. A cascade injection procedure is implemented with the aim of considerably reducing flow lengths during preform saturation.

Funded by Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) in frame of the programs “Intelligent Production” and “Production of the Future”.

Duration: 2016 bis 2017

Partner: Partner: Thöni Industriebetriebe GmbH, superTEX composites GmbH, Research Center for Non Destructive Testing GmbH

RSBC - Reliable and Sustainable composite production for Biobased Components

RSBC - Reliable and Sustainable composite production for Biobased Components

The project "RSBC" focuses on the development and processing of renewable raw materials based thermoset matrix system for natural fiber reinforced plastics (NFRP)

The goals are the optimization of the material properties, the increase of the biobased carbon content insidethe thermoset system, and the reduction of ecologically and toxicologically harmful contents and excipients. Coordination of both components in the biobased NFRP material and process control contribute to the improvement and adjustments of the material properties for light and structural construction applications. The use of process monitoring methods completes the holistic approach for the prospective successful integration of biobased composites into industrial production processes.

Within the framework of a Life Cylce Analysis, the assessment of material and production processes is carried out under ecological and economic aspects and the analysis of the potential for use of the developed biobased fiber composite materials.

The project is funded by the FFG with funds from the research and technology support within the framework of the FTI Initiative: "Produktion der Zukunft", project number 858688.

Duration : 2017 bis 2020 

Partner: Kompetenzzentrum Holz GmbH, Jaksche Kunststofftechnik GmbH, bto-epoxy GmbH, R&D Consulting GmbH & Co KG, Kästle Technology GmbH 

SCT - Smart Composite Tubes: Automated Production of spatially curved fiber composite tubes

[Translate to Englisch:] SCT Smart Composite Tube

SCT – Smart Composite Tubes

Automated Production of spatially curved fiber composite tubes

A decisive criterion to meet the growing demand for composite materials in industrial applications is the development of highly efficient manufacturing processes. Here, bladder-assisted resin transfer molding (BARTM) represents a suitable process technology for the production of complex shaped hollow parts such as load-bearing frame structures or fluid piping elements.

In frame of the completed research project “Smart Composite Tube”, basic aspects for the realization of a flexible series production of curved composite tubes using braided fiber reinforcements and thermoset resins were studied.

Funded by the FFG in frame of research and technology funding under the program Intelligent Production, grant agreement no 838826.

Durartion: 2013 bis 2016

Partner: Thöni Industriebetriebe GmbH, superTEX composites GmbH, Research Center for Non Destructive Testing GmbH

Stellar – Selective Tape-Laying for Cost-Effective Manufacturing of Optimised Multi-Material Components

Stellar

Selective Tape-Laying for Cost-Effective Manufacturing of Optimised Multi-Material Components

The application fields for fiber reinforced composites are more diverse than ever before. Typically the reinforcing materials are based on carbon or glass fibers arranged into technical textiles. In case of high performance components a defined oriented reinforcement is required. Such structures can be reached by using unidirectional reinforced tapes and according placement technologies.

The aim of the “STELLAR” (Selective Tape-Laying for Cost-­Effective Manufacturing of Optimised Multi-Material Components) project was to develop a placement technology for thermoplastic based structures. The project was intended to develop a manufacturing process that is appropriate for a wide range of potential applications. 

Funded by the European Union Seventh Framework Programme [FP7-2013-NMP-ICT-FOF(RTD)] under grant agreement no 609121.

Duration: 2013 bis 2016

Projekte

Im Rahmen von öffentlich geförderten Forschungsvorhaben werden am Lehrstuhl gleichermaßen grundlagenorientierte wie auch anwendungsnahe Fragestellungen bearbeitet.

Hier eine Auswahl von derzeit am Lehrstuhl bearbeiteten bzw. bereits abgeschlossenen Forschungsvorhaben:

 

Christian Doppler Labor für Hocheffiziente Composite Verarbeitung

Christian Doppler Labor für Hocheffiziente Composite Verarbeitung

Betreut durch die Christian Doppler Forschungsgesellschaft und unterstützt durch Fördermittel des Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft (BMWFW) sowie in Kooperation mit der FACC Operations GmbH.

Laufzeit: 2013 bis 2020

Partner: FACC Operations GmbH

Christian Doppler Labor – Kostenschätzung für wirtschaftliche Composite Produktion

Christian Doppler Labor

Kostenschätzung für wirtschaftliche Composite Produktion

Faserverstärkte Kunststoffe oder Composite Materialien, besitzen aufgrund ihrer Werkstoffkombination aus hochfesten Fasern in einer widerstandsfähigen Kunststoffmatrix außergewöhnliche mechanische Eigenschaften. Diese werden besonders in der Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie im Rennsport geschätzt. Aber auch die Automotive-, Transport-, Wind- und Sportindustrie können vom Leistungspotenzial dieses High-Tech Werkstoffs profitieren.

Dazu ist es jedoch wichtig die vergleichsweise hohen Werkstoff- und Herstellungskosten zu verstehen und kontrollieren zu können. Die Kostenmodellierung bzw. Kostenschätzung ist hierzu ein essentielles Werkzeug, für das grundsätzlich drei elementare Methoden - Ähnlichkeitsbasierte, Parametrische und ­Bottom-up Schätzungen - zur Verfügung stehen. Basierend auf einer Analyse dieser Verfahren und bekannter Modelle wurde für das Christian Doppler Labor (CDL) ein Bottom-up/Parametrischer Hybridansatz entwickelt.

Ermöglicht wird diese Forschung durch das Österreichische Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft, die Christian ­Doppler Forschungsgesellschaft sowie die FACC Operations GmbH.

Partner: FACC Operations GmbH

Flüssigimprägnierverfahren - Weiterentwicklung und Verständnis

Flüssigimprägnierverfahren

Weiterentwicklung und Verständnis durch Forschung

Die Herstellung von Verbundwerkstoffen mittels Flüssigimprägnierverfahren (Liquid Composite Moulding LCM) hat in den letzten Jahren kräftigen Aufschwung erfahren. Grund hierfür ist die Möglichkeit den Prozess zu einem großen Teil zu automatisieren, wodurch die Fertigung von Großserien möglich wird. Aufgrund des großen Interesses der Wirtschaft laufen am Lehrstuhl für Verarbeitung von Verbundwerkstoffen eine Reihe von Projekten, die sich mit unterschiedlichen Fragestellungen des LCM Prozesses auseinandersetzen.

Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie im Rahmen des Programms “Produktion der Zukunft”.

Partner: Alpex Technology GmbH, Austrian Institut of Technology GmbH, Benteler-SGL Composites Technology GmbH, bto-epoxy GmbH, FACC AG

HybridRTM – Qualitätsgesichertes Produktionsverfahren für hybride Werkstoffverbunde im RTM Verfahren

HybridRTM

Qualitätsgesichertes Produktionsverfahren für hybride Werkstoffverbunde im RTM Verfahren

Im Projekt „HybridRTM“ wird an einem Einschritt-Harzinjektionsverfahren gearbeitet, bei dem die trockene Verstärkungsstruktur zusammen mit einer metallischen Komponente im Werkzeug platziert wird. Infiltration und Verbindungsaufbau erfolgen dann in einem Schritt. Dafür ist die Definition eines Harzinjektionspunktes und der Entlüftungsöffnungen notwendig. Außerdem sind das prozessbedingte Aushärteverhalten und die resultierenden Eigenspannungen von Interesse. Angestrebt wird die Definition optimierter Prozessbedingungen, mit denen die beste Anhaftung zwischen Verbundwerkstoff- und Metallkomponente, ein minimierter Verzug des Bauteils und möglichst kurze Prozesszeiten erreicht werden.

Gefördert durch die FFG mit Mitteln aus der Forschungs- und Technologieförderung im Rahmen des Programms Produktion der Zukunft, Projektnummer 848666, sowie durch das brasilianische Bildungsministerium und CAPES.

Laufzeit: 2015 bis 2018

Partner: Benteler SGL Composite Technology GmbH, Austria, alpex technologies GmbH, LKR Leichtmetallkompetenzzentrum Ranshofen GmbH, bto-epoxy GmbH

Weitere Informationen im Zweijahresbericht 2015 - 2016 ( S. 32 und S. 41)

MoVeTech – Modellbasierte Verarbeitungstechnik zur Herstellung von FKV-Strukturbauteilen

MoVeTech

Modellbasierte Verarbeitungstechnik zur Herstellung von hochwertigen FKV-Strukturbauteilen

Das Projekt „MoVeTech“ beschäftigt sich mit der Modellierung und Simulation von Verbundwerkstoffen im Luftfahrtbereich und setzt massiv auf Sensorunterstützung. Im Projekt wird der ­Advanced ­Resin Transfer Molding Prozess (auch als Spaltimprägnierung bezeichnet) betrachtet. Die geschlossene Kavität weist hierbei zunächst einen Spalt zwischen Oberwerkzeug und Preform auf, in den das Harz eingespritzt und in der Ebene verteilt wird. Der anschließend durch die Presse vertikal ausgeübte Druck verteilt das Harz in der Preform. Dabei werden verschiedene Arten von Sensoren (wie Temperatur, Druck, DC und DEA) verwendet, um wichtige Aspekte des Prozesses wie die Ankunft der Fließfront, den Aushärtungsgrad oder das Vernetzungsverhalten zu erfassen. 

Gefördert wird das Projekt durch die FFG mit Mitteln aus der Forschungs- und Technologieförderung im Rahmen des Programms TAKE OFF, Projektnummer 850466.

Laufzeit: 2015 bis 2018

Partner: Langzauner GmbH, FACC Operations GmbH, ALPEX Technologies GmbH, MUL-LA

NovoTube

NovoTube

„NovoTube“, das Nachfolgeprojekt von SCT – Smart Composite Tubes, beschäftigt sich mit weiterführenden Fragestellungen zum Infiltrationsprozess, bei denen eine Verringerung von Füllzeiten und eine Erweiterung der verfahrensspezifischen Prozessgrenzen im Vordergrund stehen.

Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie im Rahmen der FTI-Initiativen „Intelligente Produktion” und „Produktion der Zukunft“ und seitens der FFG betreut.

Laufzeit: 2016 bis 2017

Partner: Partner: Thöni Industriebetriebe GmbH, superTEX composites GmbH, Research Center for Non Destructive Testing GmbH

RSBC - Reliable and Sustainable composite production for Biobased Components

RSBC - Reliable and Sustainable composite production for Biobased Components

Das Projekt „RSBC“ fokussiert die Entwicklung und Verarbeitung eines auf nachwachsenden Rohstoffen basierenden, duromeren Matrixsystems für naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe (NFK).

Ziele sind die Optimierung der Materialeigenschaften, die Erhöhung des biobasierten Kohlenstoffanteils im Duromersystem sowie die Reduktion ökologisch und toxikologisch bedenklicher Inhalts- und Hilfsstoffe. Charakterisierung und Abstimmung beider Komponenten im biobasierten NFK-Verbund tragen zur Verbesserung und gezielten Einstellung der Werkstoffeigenschaften für Leicht- und Strukturbauanwendungen bei. Der Einsatz von Prozessüberwachungsmethoden vervollständigt den ganzheitlichen Ansatz für die zukünftig erfolgreiche Integration biobasierter Verbundwerkstoffe in industrielle Produktionsprozesse.

Im Rahmen einer Ökoeffizienzanalyse finden darüber hinaus die Bewertung von Material und Fertigungsverfahren unter ökologischen und ökonomischen Gesichtspunkten und die Analyse des Einsatzpotentials der entwickelten biobasierten Faserverbundwerkstoffe statt.

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die FFG mit Mitteln aus der Forschungs- und Technologieförderung im Rahmen der FTI-Initiative: Produktion der Zukunft, Projektnummer 858688. 

Laufzeit: 2017 bis 2020 

Partner: Kompetenzzentrum Holz GmbH, Jaksche Kunststofftechnik GmbH, bto-epoxy GmbH, R&D Consulting GmbH & Co KG, Kästle Technology GmbH 

SCT – Smart Composite Tubes: Automatisierte Produktion von räumlich gekrümmten Faserverbundrohren

SCT Smart Composite Tube

SCT – Smart Composite Tubes

Automatisierte Produktion von räumlich gekrümmten Faserverbundrohren

Die Entwicklung von effizienten Verarbeitungsprozessen ist ein entscheidendes Kriterium für den steigenden industriellen Einsatz von Faserverbundwerkstoffen. Das Schlauchblas-RTM-Verfahren stellt hierbei eine geeignete Fertigungstechnologie zur Herstellung komplexer Hohlkörperprofile wie z. B. lasttragende Rahmenstrukturen und integrale Fluidleitungselemente dar. 

Im Rahmen des abgeschlossenen Forschungsvorhabens „Smart Composite Tube“ wurden elementare Fragestellungen zur Umsetzung einer flexiblen Serienfertigung von gekrümmten Faserverbundrohren durch Einsatz von geflochtenen Faserhalbzeugen und duromeren Tränkharzen untersucht.

Gefördert durch die FFG mit Mitteln aus der Forschungs- und Technologieförderung im Rahmen des Programms Intelligente Produktion, Projektnummer 838826.

Laufzeit: 2013 bis 2016

Partner: Thöni Industriebetriebe GmbH, superTEX composites GmbH, Research Center for Non Destructive Testing GmbH

Stellar – Selective Tape-Laying for Cost-Effective Manufacturing of Optimised Multi-Material Components

Stellar

Selective Tape-Laying for Cost-Effective Manufacturing of Optimised Multi-Material Components

Die Anwendungsgebiete endlosfaserverstärkter Kunststoffverbunde sind heute vielfältiger denn je. Typischerweise ­werden Verstärkungsmaterialien wie Carbon- oder Glasfasern in Form von technischen Textilien verarbeitet. Für Hochleistungsbauteile werden definiert gerichtete Verstärkungsstrukturen benötigt. Diese lassen sich über unidirektional verstärkte Bändchen mittels Legetechnik herstellen.

Im Projekt „STELLAR“ (Selective Tape-Laying for Cost-Effective ­Manufacturing of Optimised Multi-Material Components) wurde eine Legetechnik zum Aufbau thermoplastischer Strukturen entwickelt.

Gefördert durch das 7. Rahmenprogramm der Europäischen Union [FP7-2013-NMP-ICT-FOF(RTD)], Projektnummer 609121.

Laufzeit: 2013 bis 2016