Extrusion

With the long lasting experience in the field of extrusion we can design screws and dies with analytical and numerical 3D-FEM calculations. Furthermore, we are able to to solve different tasks via experiments on the available extrusion equipment. This enables us to verify the simulated and calculated results with practical experiments and to improve the methodologies.

Projects

The SUSMAGPRO project aims to achieve the sustainable recovery, recycling and reuse of rare earth magnets in a circular economy. © MIMplus Technologies GmbH & Co. KG
The research activities focus on applications such as automotive rotors, water pumps, loudspeakers and wind turbines.
© MIMplus Technologies GmbH & Co. KG

Sustainable recovery, recycling and reuse of rare earth magnets

The aim of the SUSMAGPRO project is to identify, separate, process and reuse permanent magnets based on rare earths such as neodymium-iron-boron (NdFeB) on a pilot scale across Europe.

As part of the project, a circular business model is being developed in the context of the circular economy: Instead of disposing of critical resources in landfills or exporting NdFeB-containing waste to other parts of the world, SUSMAGPRO will use the latest technologies to extract the elements from the magnetic scrap and re-integrate the metals into new products for the European market over a shortened cycle. The focus is on applications in automotive rotors, water pumps, loudspeakers and wind turbines.

The institute of polymer processing is responsible for the development, optimization and characterisation of polymer-NdFeB compounds for extrusion and injection mounding to be used in the production of sintered and bonded magnets.

Test your knowledge about rare earth magnets --> SUSMAGPRO QUIZ

 

 

     

 


SUSMAGPRO is a follow-up project to:
REMANENCE project: https://cordis.europa.eu/project/rcn/106545/en
REProMag project: https://cordis.europa.eu/project/rcn/193433/factsheet/en 

SUSMAGPRO is funded under the EU's "Horizon 2020" Research and Innovation Program (Grant Agreement No. 821114). Project duration: 06/2019 - 05/2023 Participating countries: Denmark, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Austria, Sweden, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom

To top

Microgranulation - development of an underwater pelletizing system of microgranules used for rotational molding

The goal of the FFG Coin project microgranulation was the development of an underwater pelletizing system of microgranules used for the rotational molding.

At the chair of polymer processing a great number of simulations had to be done on the pelletizing head, as the thin holes with a diameter of 0,5 mm tend to freeze. In cooperation with other companies and universities the die plate and the flow concept was revised.

Co-rotating conical twin screw extruder

This  FFG funded project dealt with the procedural description of a co-rotating conical twin screw extruder from the company M-A-S (Maschinen und Anlagenbau Schulz GmbH). At the chair an analytical program for the calculation of the pressure at the die was developed and the results could be verified with measurements at the laboratory extruder at M-A-S.

With the conical geometry of the screws a very big free volume at the intake can handle bulk goods with a very low density. So materials like flakes from the recycling with a bulk density of about 300 kg/m³ can be processed. The pressure built up, increased by the conical concept enables a direct extrusion without the need of a melt pump.

Material characterization of bulk material

In the feed zone of extruders the bulk material properties of the granules are very important. The density, the pressure anisotropy but also the friction between the material itself and to the surrounding machinery plays a vital role in conveying. As an example the density of PET flakes at different pressures was researched.

The pressure anisotropy, the relation of the radial to axial pressure can vary between zero and one and is dependent of the pressure and temperature.

The friction coefficient can be measured with the friction extruder. The pressure along the screw, the torque and the screw speed are measured and the friction coefficient between the bulk material and the cylinder can be calculated.

Measurement of the residence time using a dielecrically tracer

The FFG Bridge project was funded for the development of a method to measure the residence time measurement using a dielectrically tracer.

A tracer (lead zirconate titanate) is given in a pulse and the change of the capacity over the time is measured and leads to the residence time distribution. Different dies were constructed in which the capacitor plates are integrated. The frequency of the charging is directly proportional to the concentration of the tracer in the melt flow. In the figure three residence time distributions are shown. With an increase of the screw speed the residence time diminishes, while an increase of the tracer amount only shows the influence on the frequency (concentration).

Screw and die design with 3D FEM simulation and analytical methods

In addition to analytical calculations screws, dies and tools are also designed with 3D fluid and structural simulation.

Both methodes use the equation of state. For flow problems the programm Ansys Polyflow is used. At the chair of polymer processing programs for single and twin-screw extruders but also for reciprocating screws were developed.

For the calculation of dies the viscoelastic properties of the polymer are a major challenge.

Equipment

Film line Collin

Film line Collin

  • Extruder “Teachline” E30P
  • Extruders “Teachline E20T-H SCD 15”
  • 5 layer feedblock
  • Coathanger die 250 mm
  • Chill roll with haul off unit CR 136/-350 mm
  • Corona treatment

Single screw extruder for foaming and casting

Single screw extruder ROEX 30.24 F

Single screw extruder for foaming and casting

  • Rosendahl Ø = 45 mm
  • Different screws 24-36 D
  • Cast film unit SML, width 600 mm
  • Metering station for regrind
  • Gas dosing unit for foams

    Single screw extruder ROEX 30.24 F

  • Screw diameter of 30 mm
  • L / D ratio of 24/1
  • Cylinder made of fluorine-resistant bimetal
  • Snail of Inconel

Pipe extrusion line

Pipe extrusion line

  • Extruder battenfeld-cincinnati Proton 45-28 G
  • Vacuum cooling bath Kuag ATL-C 63
  • Caterpillar haul-off unit Kuag RAE 63/1
  • Cutter Graewe TE 63 H

Further equipment

Further equpiment

  • High-temperature corotating twin screw extruder Leistritz ZSE 18MP-48D
  • Conical counterrotating twin screw extruder battenfeld-cincinnati Konos 38 RP
  • Filtertest extruder Collin FT-E20T-MP-IS
  • Friction measurement extruder
  • Blow moulding machine Kautex KEB 1
  • Thermoforming machine Illig UA 60EDH OST G

Extrusion

Durch jahrzehntelange Erfahrung im Bereich der Extrusion können wir durch 3D-FEM Simulationen und analytische Berechnung Schnecken und Düsen auslegen. Weiters sind wir in der Lage, verschiedenste Aufgaben durch Versuche an den Extrusionsanlagen zu lösen. Dadurch können wir die Simulations- und Berechnungsergebnisse mit praktischen Versuchen untermauern und die Methodiken verbessern.

Projekte

Mikrogranulierung – Entwicklung einer Unterwassergranuliertechnologie für thermoplastisches Mikrogranulat

Bei dem FFG Coin Projekt Mikrogranulierung ging es um die Entwicklung einer Unterwassergranulier-Technologie für thermoplastisches Mikrogranulat für den Einsatz im Rotationsguss.

Dafür wurden am Lehrstuhl umfangreiche Simulationen am Granulierkopf der Firma Econ durchgeführt, da die Löcher mit Durchmessern von 0,5 mm dazu neigen einzufrieren und dadurch verstopfen. Weiters wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit diversen Firmen und Universitäten die Lochscheibe und auch das Strömungskonzept dieser Unterwassergranulieranlage überarbeitet.

Konisch gleichlaufender Doppelschneckenextruder

Bei dem vom FFG geförderten Projekt geht es um die verfahrenstechnische Beschreibung eines gleichlaufenden konischen Doppelschneckenextruders von M-A-S (Maschinen und Anlagenbau Schulz GmbH). Am Lehrstuhl wurde dafür ein analytisches Programm für die Berechnung des Düsendrucks entwickelt. Die bisherigen Berechnungsergebnisse der Ausstoßzone wurden durch Messungen an einem Versuchsextruder bei M-A-S in Pucking bestätigt.

Durch die konische Geometrie der Schnecken steht besonders im Einzugsbereich ein großes freies Volumen für Schüttgüter mit niedriger Dichte zur Verfügung. So können z.B.: Flakes aus dem Recycling mit einer Schüttgutdichte von ca. 300 kg/m³ gut verarbeitet werden. Der Druckaufbau, verstärkt durch die Konizität ermöglicht eine Direktextrusion des Materials, ohne dass eine Schmelzepumpe verwendet werden muss.

Materialcharakterisierung von Schüttgütern

In der Extrusion sind im Bereich des Einzuges die Schüttguteigenschaften des Granulates von besonderer Wichtigkeit. Neben der Dichte und der Druckanisotropie spielt der Reibwert zwischen dem Material selbst, sowie der Reibung zur Maschine eine große Rolle auf die Förderung. Als Beispiel dafür dient eine Messung der Dichte an PET Flakes bei unterschiedlichen Drücken.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Thema ist die Druckanisotropie, welche das Verhältnis des radialen Drucks zum axialen darstellt. Der Koeffizient kann beliebige Werte zwischen Null und Eins annehmen, wobei eine Abhängigkeit von Temperatur und Druck gegeben ist.

Der Reibwert kann mittels einer Reibwertapparatur gemessen werden. Dabei wird durch den Druckaufbau entlang des Zylinders, dem benötigten Drehmoment und der Drehzahl auf den Reibwert zwischen dem Schüttgut und dem Zylinder zurückgerechnet.

Messung der Verweilzeit mittels dielektrischer Tracer

In diesem Projekt wurde gemeinsam mit der battenfeld-cincinnati Austria GmbH eine Messmethode entwickelt, welche durch den Einsatz dielektrischer Tracer die Bestimmung der Verweilzeit ermöglicht.

Es wird ein Tracer (Bleizirkonat/-titanat) punktförmig aufgegeben und die zeitliche Veränderung der Kapazität gemessen. Dies ergibt die Verweilzeitverteilung. Dafür wurden Düsen gebaut, in welche Kondensatorplatten eingebaut sind. Die Frequenz der Ladevorgänge ist direkt proportional der Konzentration des Tracers im Schmelzestrom. In der Graphik sind drei aufgenommene Kurven aufgetragen. Mit der Erhöhung der Drehzahl verkürzt sich die Verweilzeit, während eine Erhöhung der Einwaage nur einen Einfluss auf die gemessene Frequenz (Konzentration) hat.

Schnecken- und Düsenauslegung mittels 3D FEM Simulation und analytischer Methoden

Neben analytischen Berechnungen werden Schnecken, Düsen und Werkzeuge auch mit 3D-Strömungs- und Struktursimulationen ausgelegt.

Beiden Verfahren liegen die Erhaltungssätze zu Grunde. Bei den Strömungssimulationen wird unter anderem Ansys Polyflow verwendet. Am Lehrstuhl für Kunststoffverarbeitung wurden und werden sowohl Berechnungsprogramme für Einschnecken- und Doppelschneckenextruder, wie auch für Schubschnecken entwickelt.

Bei Berechnungen der Düsen stellen besonders die viskoelastischen Eigenschaften des Kunststoffes eine große Herausforderung dar.

Ausstattung

Folienanlage Collin

Folienanlage Collin

  • Extruder “Teachline” E30P
  • 2 Extruder “Teachline E20 T-H SCD 15”
  • 5-Schicht Feed Block
  • Breitschlitzdüse 250 mm
  • Chill Roll Nachfolge Typ CR 136/-350 mm
  • Corona Oberflächenbehandlung

Einschneckenextruder

Einschneckenextruder

  • Rosendahl Ø=45 mm
  • Unterschiedliche Schnecken 24-36 D
  • Folienanlage SML, Breite 600 mm
  • Mahlgutdosierstation
  • Gasdosierstation für Schäume


Einschneckenextruder ROEX 30.24 F

  • Schneckendurchmesser von 30 mm
  • L/D Verhältnis von 24/1
  • Zylinder aus fluorfestem Bimetall
  • Schnecke aus Inconel

Rohrextrusionslinie

Rohrextrusionslinie

  • Extruder battenfeld-cincinnati Proton 45-28 G
  • Vakuum Kühlbad Kuag ATL-C 63
  • Raupenabzug Kuag RAE 63/1
  • Cutter Graewe TE 63 H

Weitere Anlagen

Weitere Anlagen

  • Gleichlaufender hochtemperatur
    Doppelschneckenextruder Leistritz ZSE 18HP-48D
  • Konischer gegenlaufender Doppelschneckenextruder
    battenfeld-cincinnati Konos 38RP
  • Filtertestsystem Collin FT-E20T-MP-IS
  • Reibwertmessextruder
  • Blasformanlage Kautex Maschinenbau KEB 1
  • Thermoformmaschine Illig UA 60 EDH OST G